Databases

All of the databases can be accessed from within any library by using designated computers that have dedicated access to the databases. Most of the databases can also be accessed remotely via any Internet connected computer, such as those in your home or office.

You must have a valid Osceola Library card to remotely access the databases. You will be prompted to enter your 13-digit library card number upon accessing each database.

*Denotes databases that cannot be accessed from home.

Arts
Fine Arts and Music Collection Full-text magazines and journals provide research for topics of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking
Culinary Arts Collection Contains thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews and industry information

 

Automotive & Business
Business, Economics and Theory Collection Provides articles focused on topics in economics
Chilton Library Automobile repair manuals
Communications & Mass Media eCollection Articles on all aspects of the communications field
Demographics Now Provides entrepreneurs, business owners and students valuable data on the community
Small Business Resource Center Covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business

 

Biography
Biography Reference Center Authoritative biographical information

 

Books & Literature
Books & Authors The fiction and nonfiction reader’s go-to site for everything: book suggestions from experts, titles, biographies, reviews and more
FirstSearch Search for listings of books in library catalogs around the world
LitFinder Literature database with many full-text works

 

Downloadable Comics, Books, & Audiobooks
ComicsPlus Read digital comics from top indie publishers.
OverDrive eResources Download ebooks or audiobooks to enjoy on your computer or mobile device.

 

Education & Languages
Educator’s Reference Complete Articles that cover multiple levels of education, from preschool to college, and every educational specialty
Mango Languages Learn a Language
Testing & Education Reference Center with Career Module Test preparation guides, career profiles, scholarship and school information with resume builder

 

Encyclopedias, Reference Resources & Law
Gale Virtual Reference Library Searchable collection of online reference books
Criminal Justice eCollection Full text resources

 

Genealogy & History
America’s News & Magazines and America’s Obituaries Features the Orlando Sentinel and national Obituary search.
*Ancestry Library Edition Search your Ancestry. *Cannot access from home.
Civil War Sources in US History Online
Florida on Florida A catalog of digital materials related to Florida
Heritage Quest Online A great variety of genealogy resources are available here, books, articles, and census records are just the beginning.

 

Health & Wellness
Health and Wellness Resource Center Instant access to carefully compiled medical resources for consumers
Health Reference Center – Academic Full text sources and images of medical journals
Nursing and Allied Health Collection Full-text and images of nursing and allied health resources
Psychology eCollection Full text resources on the study of psychology

 

Hobbies
Agriculture Collection A collection of more than 400 titles focused on Agriculture and its related fields
Garden, Landscape, & Horticulture eCollection Contains articles on gardening, landscaping, and Horticulture
Home Improvement Collection More than 180 home-improvement focused titles
Tourism, Hospitality, and Leisure eCollection Includes full collection of Fodor’s Travel Guides.

 

Kids & Young Adults
Junior Edition Magazines, newspaper articles, and current events for middle school students
Junior Reference Collection Covers history, social studies, science, and more with multimedia content, reference books, and primary sources
KidsInfoBits Research database for Elementary school students featuring reference books and magazine articles, user friendly for beginning researchers
Student Edition  Magazines, newspaper articles, and current events for high school students
TumbleBooks Library A variety of interactive books for children in English, French, and Spanish

 

Newspapers, Magazines & Journals
Academic OneFile Peer-reviewed, full text articles from leading journal and reference sources
Expanded Academic ASAP Balanced coverage of every academic discipline, all readily searchable
Gale Computer Database Access current periodicals on computers, telecommunications and electronics industries
General Reference Center Gold General interest articles from 1980 onward
General OneFile Academic periodicals, general interest magazines, newspapers, and law journals
Orlando Sentinel Access articles the local region dating back to 1985.
Popular Magazines 1000 of the most popular magazines available from InfoTrac
America’s News & Magazines Features archives of major news sources like the Miami Herald and the USA Today.

 

Spanish Language
Informe Una coleccion de revistas hispanicas con textos completos

 

Taxes
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Compete listing of IRS tax forms to review and download